Unit types


There are several different types of units in the Sea Cadets, each with its own focus and strengths. You are not required to join the nearest unit; all units have cadets from all around the area. If there is another unit with a focus closer to your interests, and you can commit to the attendance requirements, you are free to join any unit.

There are four basic types of sea cadet units:

  • BATTALIONS, such as BEN MOREELL (Pt. Hueneme), are oriented toward field operations and construction battalions (i.e. SeaBees).
  • DIVISIONS, such as LANGLEY (in Calabasas), BETSY ROSS, or BRYCE CANYON (both in Sherman Oaks), are oriented more toward the surface fleet.
  • SQUADRONS, such as AIRPAC (in Santa Barbara) and TRIDENT PATROL 65 (in Point Mugu), are oriented toward naval aviation.
  • TRAINING SHIPS are specifically League Cadet units, usually associated with a Sea Cadet Unit, such as TS NICHOLAS H. ANDERSON/BEN MOREELL Battalion and TS MINUTEMEN/TRIDENT PATROL 65 Squadron.

The U.S. Naval Sea Cadets offers fantastic training opportunities for those who want to learn the core values of Honor, Courage, and Commitment and about Navy life. Feel free to contact the Ben Moreell Battalion/TS Nicholas H. Anderson or any of the other units mentioned above to discuss observing at an upcoming drill to see if this program is for you. Join us for the Adventure of a Lifetime.